Monday, January 04, 2010

Boating in 2010


Now that those ten unspeakable years are behind us, let’s get on with the rest of the 21st century and hope for a healthy and prosperous 2010. We’re rooting for the New Year to bring a sunny and calm boating season and a strong economy to help us buy a bigger boat, or at least keep our fuel tanks topped off.

In many parts of North America, the New Year brings new boating laws, some of which we told you about before our Christmas break. (See: New Boating Laws for the New Year)

Two new regulations kicked in when the ball dropped last week, and they’re in warm weather states so pay attention:
Florida
Anyone under 21 must pass a state-approved boating safety course, and possess photo identification and a boating safety education identification card if they're operating a boat with a motor of 10 horsepower or more.
Nevada
14 and 15-year-olds, consider yourselves warned. If you are driving a boat with a skier or water tuber in tow, you now must be least 16 years old, unless you have an adult on board. You also must be at least 14 to be the person that watches the person appointed to watching the people skiing or tubing behind the boat.
We’re sure more fun and confusing regulations will appear in the coming months and years, and we’ll let you know about them when they do. Be sure to check the Daily Boater’s law updates, or visit FirstBoat.com.

Happy New Year!

* Photo Courtesy of The U.S. Coast Guard.

###